HostNode.com :: HostSeeker's Talk
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Go Back   HostNode.com :: HostSeeker's Talk > Main Forums > Webmasters Chit Chat > Warning!
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
(#1 (permalink))
Old
steve83 steve83 is offline
Confirmed User
steve83 is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 21
Join Date: Apr 2004
Warning! - 05-11-2004, 12:01 PM

If you get a email from EU Registry Services" sending out postal letters informing clients "not to ignore this notice" and:



quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Status: DUE TO EXPIRE
Renewal Fee: £60.00 (2 Years)
The domain name shown above is due for renewal. Please renew this domain immediately to ensure service continues uninterrupted. If payment is not made to the registry before the expiry date the domain is subject to immediate suspension and deletion without further notice.

Improtant information: it is vital that domain renewal fees are paid promptly to avoid registrants losing domain ownership. If it becomes past due then the domain name is deleted from the Internet and open for purchase by other parties. We request you provide us with up-to-date contact information to be able to contact you when payment is required. We will send no further warning of your domain expiry before it is deleted.
....
Return payment to: EU Registry Services, Unit 255, 48 Regent Street, Cambridge, CB2 1FD

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------



Please note the following:



EU Registry services appear to be "data mining" WHOIS/domain name records and contacting customers of ANY hosting company in this manner

The "invoices" are NOT invoices but an "invition to transfer your domain name to them" at a VERY high markup

These "invoices" can, and should, be totally ignored!!

If you get an invoice from EU Registry Services telling you your domain name is about to expire and you should pay £60 to renew it, do not reach for your cheque book.

Instead contact Cambridge Police on: 01480 456 111

websites monitoring this situation:

http://www.multireg.com/article378.html

http://www.geog.ox.ac.uk/faq/scams/RegisterEU.php

http://www.hosthideout.com/showthre...p;threadid=9747

http://www.webmasterworld.com/forum25/1890.htm

http://www.asa.org.uk/adjudications...ications_id=all (UK Advertising Standards Authority previous warning to EU Registry Services)

http://www.wellho.net/forum/Other-i...ces-a-scam.html

http://phorum.abctales.com/read.php...232&t=99232


For all who want to warn there customers, and be warned themselves :happydanc
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
(#2 (permalink))
Old
nsusa nsusa is offline
Proud to be an American
nsusa is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 78
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Colorado, USA
05-11-2004, 04:54 PM

I get those letters and emails here in the US all the time. Very 'good' disguise in many cases and I am sure that many customers will fail for it.

Chris


The Web Hosting Report - 36,000+ words that can make your business more successful.
The Web Hosting Manual - How to start your own web hosting business
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
(#3 (permalink))
Old
nsusa nsusa is offline
Proud to be an American
nsusa is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 78
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Colorado, USA
05-14-2004, 04:08 PM

All my domains are locked so that I able to protect my domains .....

Chris


The Web Hosting Report - 36,000+ words that can make your business more successful.
The Web Hosting Manual - How to start your own web hosting business
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
(#4 (permalink))
Old
xyphen xyphen is offline
Confirmed User
xyphen is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 132
Join Date: May 2004
05-14-2004, 09:46 PM

It is foolish not to have registrar lock on :) If you want to keep your domains safe, you must keep it on.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
(#5 (permalink))
Old
Hostaffect Hostaffect is offline
Confirmed User
Hostaffect is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 75
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Evanston, IL
05-15-2004, 12:21 AM

Not exactly, they can't steal your domains even if you have it unlocked. As long as you don't approve any of the request sent to your e-mail.


Karl Zimmerman
New Owner of Host Affection
http://www.hostaffect.com/
Division of Steadfast Networks
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
(#6 (permalink))
Old
wedesign wedesign is offline
Registered User
wedesign is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2004
06-17-2004, 05:09 PM

I get these messages quite a bit as well, to me that's tasteless marketing honestly.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Security Warning!! WebPlanetHost Technical and Security Pole 0 12-05-2004 02:40 AM
WARNING! They're FREE! beshopalula Related offers and Requests 0 09-16-2004 08:27 AM
Warning about www.VIP-host.com comdo99 Web Host Resources 1 09-16-2004 07:26 AM
chkrootkit warning confusing me aikon Webmasters Chit Chat 2 08-13-2004 03:54 AM
Warning system. Operator HostSeeker Announcements 0 06-08-2004 01:30 PM


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0
vB.Sponsors
© 2003 - 2007 HostSeeker.com - All rights reserved